TCU Logo.

Reference

Research librarians are a valuable resource for TCU students, faculty and staff. You are encouraged to call upon the reference staff for:

  • locating specific factual information
  • assistance in using the library catalog
  • help in submitting interlibrary loan requests
  • instruction in the use of databases
  • access to U.S. federal resources, Texas documents, and European Union resources
  • suggestions for locating resources external to TCU
  • or for any other informational question you might have

Research and Library Help Desk:

Phone: 817.257.7117

There are several ways to contact research librarians — in person, by phone, by email or by IM (Instant Messaging). All these methods are explained on the Ask a Librarian page.

Location: Information Commons desk (Map)

For exceptions to regular hours, please check the library hours page.       

Day Hours
Sunday noon - 9 pm
Monday 8 am - 9 pm
Tuesday 8 am - 9 pm
Wednesday 8 am - 9 pm
Thursday 8 am - 9 pm
Friday 8 am - 6 pm
Saturday 11 am - 8 pm

Reviewed 01/22/2013 by Brenda Barnes


Research librarians

Many of the librarians within the Reference Department are subject specialists for various subject disciplines. Some of the research librarians are located in other library departments also (Music & Brite).

These librarians:

  • provide personalized walk-up help at the library's Information Commons research desk
  • provide more in-depth assistance to individuals and/or groups through appointment-based meetings
  • provide class instruction sessions specifically related to your course topic
  • purchase materials for the library's collections (both print & electronic) for specific subject disciplines

Video: Research Librarians -- Who are they and what can they do for you? Link to YouTube video on the Research Librarians.

Contact information:

  Brenda Barnes Head of Reference
Depository Coordinator for Government Information
Brenda Barnes b.barnes@tcu.edu
817.257.5430

Reference Department
Government Information

Research Librarian For: Government Information

Reference Materials

  Pat Austin Senior Library Specialist
Pat Austin p.austin@tcu.edu
817.257.6063
Reference Department
  Diana Boerner

Research Librarian:  Business, Economics, Journalism & Ranch Management

Diana Boerner d.boerner@tcu.edu
817.257.5336
Blog: Business Exchange
Meebo: alldbizness
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
Accounting
Business
Economics
Finance
Information Systems & Supply Chain Management
Journalism
Management
Marketing
Ranch Management
  Jeff Bond Science Librarian
Jeff Bond j.bond@tcu.edu
817.257.7107
AIM: TCUjeff
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
Biology
Chemistry
Computer Science
Engineering
Geology, Energy and the Environment
Mathematics
Physics & Astronomy
Psychology
  Ammie Harrison Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian
Ammie Harrison a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338
Blog: Humanities & Theatre Lifeline
Meebo: artucute
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
English
Modern Language Studies
Film, Television & Digital Media
Theatre
Spanish & Hispanic Studies
  Robyn Reid Social Sciences Librarian
Robyn Reid r.reid@tcu.edu
817.257.5337
Blog: Science is Meant to be Social
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
Anthropology
Communication Studies
Criminal Justice
Education
History & Geography
Military Science
Political Science
Sociology
  Alysha Sapp Nursing and Health Sciences Librarian
Alysha Sapp alysha.sapp@tcu.edu
817.257.5348
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
Communication Sciences & Disorders
Kinesiology
Nursing
Nurse Anesthesia
Nutrition Sciences
Social Work
  Laura Steinbach Art & Design Librarian
Laura Steinbach l.steinbach@tcu.edu
817.257.7311
Reference Department

Research Librarian For:
Art Education
Art History
Graphic Design
Intr Design & Merchandising
Studio Art

Research librarians in other departments:

  Cari Alexander Music/Media Librarian
Cari Alexander c.alexander2@tcu.edu 817.257.7667 Music/Media Library

Research Librarian For:
Music
  Charles Bellinger Divinity & Religion Librarian
Charles Bellinger c.bellinger@tcu.edu
817.257.7668
Brite Divinity School

Research Librarian For:
Philosophy
Religion
Theology

  Laura Ruede Dance Librarian/ Van Cliburn Archivist
Laura Ruede l.ruede@tcu.edu
817.257.7774
Music/Media Library

Research Librarian For:
Classical & Contemporary Dance

Return to: previous location | top of page

Reviewed 01/22/2013 by Brenda Barnes


Research consultations

Research librarians not only help in finding answers to short factual questions -- they also assist with research needs ranging from in-depth research for class papers, theses and dissertations to research in support of the publishing endeavors of faculty, staff and students. For your research topic, resources we can help you find include:

  • books
  • journal articles
  • government information
  • multimedia (video, CDs, music scores, images)
  • archival information

To make an appointment for a research consultation, contact one of the library's research librarians.

Return to: previous location | top of page

Reviewed 01/22/2013 by Brenda Barnes


Today's Hours: Open 24 hours

© 2009-present TCU Library | Texas Christian University
TCU Box 298400, Fort Worth, TX 76129 | +1 817.257.7117 | fax: 817.257.7282

Link to Texas Christian University home page. A Federal depository. A Texas State Depository. Accessibility services TCU Library Mobile Site Icon. Visit the mobile device web site. TCU Library 101 YouTube channel TCU Library Facebook page TCU Library Twitter stream